How to Have an Eco Clean Home. PART 1

Here are a few recipes, tried and tested by me for an Eco-Clean Home! Trying new things can be a little intimidating. It took me a while to ween myself off store bought and plastic packaged cleaning products. I was scared I’d melt my bench top or accidentally poison myself if I tried anything homemade. But I went for it and it works!

Buy these ingredients in bulk at your local store and never look back. Each step we take towards a more eco life is a step towards a healthier and happier world.

Ingredients for an eco-clean home:

  • White Vinegar (cuts grease, deodorises, disinfects)
  • Bicarb soda (cuts grease, deodorises, lifts dirt, whitens)
  • Lemon (disinfects and whitens)
  • Essential oils (makes it smell awesome)

There are basically two things I use, an all purpose cleaner, a glass cleaner, a floor cleaner (I use the floor cleaner for the toilet cleaner too). How to mix it all together:

ALL PURPOSE CLEANER

  • 3 parts water
  • 1 part white vinegar
  • 2 teaspoons of lemon juice
  • 6 drops of essential oil (or I use eucalyptus oil)
  • Add it all into a reusable spray bottle and shake before each use to mix in the essential oils

GLASS CLEANER

  • 1 part water
  • 1 part white vinegar
  • Add to a reusable spray bottle and use old newspaper to rub the glass until it is dry

FLOOR CLEANER

  • Add 4 litres of warm water to a bucket then add
  • 2 tablespoons of white vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon of lemon juice
  • 5 drops of lavender essential oil (or an oil of your choice)

Relax, have fun and remember if you wouldn’t eat it don’t pour it down the sink.

Katie xx

P.S. Follow the blog for more tips on co-creating a healthier and happier world!

The One World Collective Katie Johnston