EcoBling Takes Off!

I made it into Peppermint Magazine! YAY!

I am so proud of the progress being made and the impact we are having on our EcoBling project. Diverting waste from of the massively clogged up landfill system to transform it into jewellery is what EcoBling does with gusto. I then use the profits to plant trees. How good is that?!

To date I have upcycled several tons of metal and wood waste and I have raised money to plant over ten thousand trees with the potential to pull over 3,000,000 metric tons of carbon out of the atmosphere. I have connected with Indigenous Australian communities to share and celebrate culture via art on our IndigiBling range to add to the amazing work being done to build respect and reconcilitation between Indigenous and non-Indigenous Australians. Stay tuned for the EcoBling impact assessment report.

It is so important for me to embed my values in the work that I do as that is what gets me out of bed every day and inspires me to keep going, no matter what is thrown my way. Being a conservationist, vegan, earth-loving, oneness-believing business woman, I know we can change the world. I started off as a simple farm girl and through trauma, healing, self-belief, frustration, hope and recognising how interconnected we all are I took one step, which was all that was needed. Strategy then flowed, creativity fed the fire, The One World Collective was born (it has now died) and EcoBling followed (it now thrives). My goal was to become a self-funded and resilient organisation that is going to be around for a very very long time.

Becoming a self-funded organisation is so important to me as it allows us to maintain our authenticity, values and mission. EcoBling has gone from strength to strength but one thing was holding me back. The not for profit business structure had been limiting our growth, deterring investors like bug repellent. So I privatised EcoBling so I could expand the awesomeness. From the 1st of May 2016, EcoBling became a private business open for investment!

peppermint magazine ecobling

I have been kicking butt, see here I am in Peppermint Magazine. Why am I so stoked with this? Because the message is getting out there, and at the end of the day all that really matters is that we shift the trajectory of the planet by shifting mindsets and inspiring action.

So thanks Peppermint Magazine!

Head to EcoBling’s online store (ecobling.org) to pick up a gift for yourself and your loved ones and support my cause!

Big hugs to all
Katie xx

signature Katie Johnston